# Association for the Creation of an International Training Center for Visits to Places of Deprivation of Liberty

# Consultation of NPMs of Council of Europe Member States and International Stakeholders

# <u>Launching conference</u> Tuesday 1 June 2021, 15h00 – 17h00 CEST

# **List of participants**

# 1. NPMs of Council of Europe Member States

#### **Albania**

(Office of the People's Advocate)

Ms Erinda BALLANCA, Ombudsman Ms Gloria ÇARKAXHIU, Assistant Commissioner for NPM Ms Ermonela XHAFA, Commissioner of NPM

#### **Armenia**

(Office of the Human Rights Defender)

Ms Laura GASPARYAN, Head of the NPM

#### **Austria**

(Ombudsman Board)

(Excused)

# Azerbaijan

(Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights)

(No reply)

# **Bulgaria**

(Office of the Ombudsman)

Ms Silviya SLAVEVA, Expert, NPM

# Croatia

(Office of the People's Ombudsman)

Ms Maja KEVIC, Deputy Ombudswoman Ms Tena SOMONOVIC EINWALTER, Ombudswoman Ms Anica TOMSIC-STOJKOVSKA, Counsellor

### Cyprus

(Office of the Commissioner for Administration)

Ms Antonia KYRIAKIDOU, Member, NPM

# **Czech Republic**

(Office of the Public Defender of Rights)

Ms Teresa CIUPKOVA, Lawyer, NPM Ms Anna MAKARENKO, Lawyer, NPM Ms Barbora MATEJKOVA Lawyer, NPM Mr Ondrej VALA, Head of the NPM

#### **Denmark**

(Office of the Parliamentary Ombudsman)

(Excused)

#### Estonia

(Office of the Chancellor of Justice)

Mr Indrek-Ivar MÄÄRITS, Head of Inspection Visits Department

#### **Finland**

(Office of the Parliamentary Ombudsman)

(No Reply)

#### **France**

(General Controller of Places of Deprivation of Liberty)

Ms Anne-Sophie BONNET, Controller / in charge of International Relations

# Georgia

(Office of the Public Defender)

Mr Nika KVARATSKHELIA, Head of the NPM

#### Germany

(National Agency for the Prevention of Torture)

Mr Christian ILLGNER, Head of Operations

#### Greece

(Office of the Ombudsman)

Ms Chrysoula ANTONIOU, Investigator
Ms Olga LYSANDROPOULOU, Investigator
Ms Alexandra MOSCHOPOULOU, Investigator
Mr George NIKOLOPOULOS, Head of the NPM

Ms Aimilia PANAGOU, Investigator
Ms Maria PAPADIMITRAKI, Senior Investigator
Mr Andreas POTTAKIS, Ombudsman
Ms Ifigeneia SAGI, Investigator
Ms Agelina SORA, Senior Investigator
Ms Maria VOUTSINOV, Investigator

#### Hungary

(Office of the Commissioner for Fundamental Rights)

Mr Istvan SARKÖZY, Advisor

#### Iceland

(Office of the Parliamentary Ombudsman)

(No reply)

#### Italy

(National Guarantor of the Rights of Persons Deprived of Their Liberty)

Ms Antonella DIONISI, Monitor Mr Massimiliano BAGAGLINI, Head of the Migrant Protection Unit

#### Kosovo<sup>1</sup>

(Ombudsperson Institution)

Mr. Niman HAJDARI, Senior Legal Advisor for the Prevention of Torture

#### Latvia

(Ombudsman's Office)

(No reply)

#### Liechtenstein

(Inspection Commission)

(No contact address)

# Lithuania

(Office of the Seimas Ombudsman)

(No reply)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> All reference to Kosovo, whether to the territory, institutions or population, in this text shall be understood in full compliance with United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244 and without prejudice to the status of Kosovo.

#### Luxembourg

(Office of the Ombudsman)

Ms Claudia MONTI, Ombudsman and Head of the NPM

#### Malta

(Board of Visitors for Detained Persons & Board of Visitors of the Prisons)

Mr Michael BUTTIGIEG, Secretary MBDP

#### Moldova

(Office of the People's Advocate)

(No reply)

### Montenegro

(Office of the Protector of Human Rights and Freedoms)

Ms Mirjana RADOVIC, Advisor

#### **Netherlands**

(Inspectorate for Implementation of Sanctions)

(No reply)

# **North Macedonia**

(Office of the Ombudsman)

Ms Vjolica RUSHAJ, State advisor Ms Bardhyl LIMANI, Associate

#### Norway

(Office of the Parliamentary Ombudsman)

(Excused)

#### **Poland**

(Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights)

Mr Przemislav KAZIMIRSKI, Head of NPM

# **Portugal**

(Office of the Protector of Justice)

(Excused)

#### Romania

(Office of the People's Advocate)

Ms Maria LEPADATU, Counsellor

#### Serbia

(Office of the Protector of Citizens)

Mr Marko ANOJCIC, Independent Advisor Ms Natasa TANJEVIC, Deputy Ombudsman

#### Slovenia

(Office of the Human Rights Ombudsman)

Mr Ivan SELIH, Deputy Ombudsman, Head of the NPM

#### **Spain**

(Office of the Defendor of the People)

(No reply)

#### Sweden

(Office of the Parliamentary Ombudsmen)

(Excused)

#### **Switzerland**

(National Commission for the Prevention of Torture)

(Excused)

# **Turkey**

(Office of the Human Rights and Equality Institution)

Mr. Yldirim FEYZANUR, NPM member Mr Nesrin ÖZTURK, NPM member Mr Abdulmuttalip ZARAZIZ, NPM Member

#### Ukraine

(Office of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Human Rights)

Mr Maksym MALYSHEV, Deputy Director, NPM Implementation Department Ms Katerina POHORSKA, Director, NPM Implementation Department

# **United Kingdom**

(Her Majesty's Inspectorate of Prisons, England & Wales coordinating the NPM)

Ms Lucy GREGG, Head of Secretariat Mr John WADHAM, Chairperson

### 2. International Stakeholders

#### **APT**

Ms. Audrey OLIVIER MURALT, Deputy Secretary General

# **CPT**

Mr Sebastian RIETZ, Member of the Secretariat

# **Dignity**

(No Reply)

101

(No reply)

#### **NPM Obs**

Mr Marco Mona, Member

#### **OSCE-ODIHR**

Ms Jennifer ROBERTS, Project Officer

#### SPT

Mr Armen AVETISYAN, Member of the Secretariat

Ms Carmen COMAS MATA, Vice Chair

Mr Jakub CZEPEK, Member (Poland)

Ms Marija DEFINIS, Member (Croatia)

Ms Marina LANGFELDT (Germany)

Mr Joao NATAF, Secretary

Ms Catherine PAULET, Member (France)

Ms Zdenka PEROVIC, Member (Montenegro)

# 3. <u>Individual experts</u>

Mr Abdallah DOUNNIR, Professor, Morocco
Ms Hamida DRIDI, Medical Doctor, Tunisia
Sir Malcolm EVANS, Co-author of the Project Evaluation Report
Ms Sarah GRANDFILS, Permanent Member, Central Council for Penitentiary Oversight
(CCSP-CTRG), Belgium

Mr Pieter HOUBEY, Permanent Member, Central Council for Penitentiary Oversight (CCSP-CTRG), Belgium

Mr Fethi JARRAY, President of the NPM of Tunisia

Mr Marc NÈVE, President, Central Council for Penitentiary Oversight (CCSP-CTRG), Belgium

Ms Lora VIDOVIČ, Co-author of the Project Evaluation Report

# 4. Guests

Ms Clémentine CHIRON, Trainee, Council of Europe

Ms Sarah CURRISTAN, Researcher, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Ms Pauline MALLEJAC, PhD Student, University of Aix-Marseille, France

Ms Mariam Camilla RECHCHAD, Trainee, Council of Europe

Ms Mary ROGAN, Associate Professor, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Ms Marie STEINBRECHER, Research Fellow, Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland

Ms Sophie VAN DER VALK, Researcher, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

# 5. Council of Europe

Ms Anouchka GALHARDO, Project Manager, Program in support of the independent bodies in Tunisia (PAII-T), Independent Human Rights Bodies Division, Directorate General Human Rights and Rule of Law

Mr Christos GIAKOUMOPOULOS, Director General Human Rights and Rule of Law Mr Sebastian RIETZ, Project Manager European NPM Forum, Directorate General Human Rights and Rule of Law

Ms Jennifer SCHUETZE-REYMANN, Head of Torture Prevention Unit, Independent Human Rights Bodies Division, Directorate General Human Rights and Rule of Law

6. <u>Organizers</u> (Association for the Creation of an International Training Center for Visits to Places of Deprivation of Liberty

Ms Marie CRÉTENOT, Member

Mr Jean-Marie DELARUE, Member

Mr Vincent DELBOS, Member

Mr Patick MAREST, Director

Mr Vincent THEIS, Secretary

Mr Philippe POTTIER, President

Mr André VALLOTTON, Treasurer

Ms Elisabetta ZAMPARUTTI, Member

# 7. Assistance

Mr Markus JAEGER, Jaeger & Associates Ms Ekaterina KIRILENKO, BAP Tech

# 8. Interpreters

Ms Claude JEANALEXIS
Ms Maura POLLIN